What are the Regulations for E-scooters in Los Angeles?
E-scooters have blown up in popularity over the last few years. Especially in cities like Los Angeles that have many tourist areas and promenades for foot traffic, e-scooter rental companies like Lime and Bird are everywhere. As with any new technology, a number of unexpected (or expected) hazards have arisen. Below, we discuss the regulations put in place by Los Angeles and the State of California to lessen the known dangers created by e-scooters. If you’ve been hurt in an e-scooter accident, call a seasoned Calabasas personal injury attorney.
Minors under the age of 18 are required to wear a helmet at all times while riding an e-scooter. The helmet has to fit properly and it must be properly fastened. Violating the helmet law can trigger a ticket of up to $200.
The rule, however, applies only to minors. Adults are encouraged to wear helmets while riding but there is no state law requiring them to do so. E-scooter rental companies like Lime and Bird do recommend everyone wear a helmet while riding.
According to California state law, no one is permitted to ride a motorized scooter at speeds in excess of 15 miles per hour. Even if an e-scooter is capable of going faster, riders are not permitted to exceed 15 mph.
E-scooters are not permitted on all roads and locations. E-scooters must be ridden either in bike lanes or on the far right of the road, and only on streets with a speed limit of 25 mph or lower. Unless there is a specific municipal rule allowing for it, e-scooters cannot be ridden on sidewalks. Typically, they can be ridden on designated bike paths, and riding up on the sidewalk may be allowed just for the sake of parking or pulling out of a parking spot.
Riding outside the bike lane or right side is permitted only to pass, to turn right, to avoid hazards, or to turn left (although riders must actually dismount and walk their scooters across the crosswalk to turn left).
Under California law, no passengers are allowed on e-scooters. That means no riding tandem.
In order to operate an e-scooter, a rider must either have a valid state driver’s license or an instruction permit. Riders can thus ride an e-scooter with a learner’s permit, which they can obtain at the age of 15 and a half. Given that no passengers are allowed, that means that no one under the age of 15 should be on a motorized scooter at any time.
Anyone who has walked or driven around an area populated with e-scooters can attest to the fact that one of the most annoying and dangerous factors of e-scooters is that riders tend to simply dump them just anywhere when their rental is up. Scooters casually tossed to the ground can be difficult to see, creating a danger for pedestrians, motorcyclists, and drivers. Los Angeles requires e-scooters to be parked upright on the outer edge of the sidewalk to alleviate this problem.
If you or someone you love has been injured in an e-scooter accident or otherwise due to someone’s negligence in Southern California, call a zealous and trial-ready personal injury attorney at the Halpern Law Firm. We fight for the compensation you and your family deserve. Contact us at (818) 785-5999 today. These cases are handled on a contingency basis, meaning you won’t be charged any attorney’s fees unless we win.